Author Topic: Use of a 2008 track  (Read 2162 times)

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
Use of a 2008 track
« on: 06 June, 2010, 09:47:57 pm »
I have my track from 2008 Asparagus etc. The route sheet is notorious as being "dodgy".
Track has 6399 points.
Idiot question can I just shunt that across to Etrex Legend Cx - and then follow track - or is there some limit on track points if I try to do that.
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

Manotea

• Where there is doubt...
Re: Use of a 2008 track
« Reply #1 on: 06 June, 2010, 09:52:47 pm »
I have my track from 2008 Asparagus etc. The route sheet is notorious as being "dodgy".
Track has 6399 points.
Idiot question can I just shunt that across to Etrex Legend Cx - and then follow track - or is there some limit on track points if I try to do that.

You'll need to filter it down to 500 trackpoints elsewise it will be truncated on download. See track properties in Mapsource.

Chris S

« Reply #2 on: 06 June, 2010, 09:54:40 pm »
You could do what I did - spend a couple of hours poring over said routesheet, a copy of google maps, and streetmap.co.uk, and with the help of a cheap Ozzie red, bash out a route - plus tracks.

I have found a shortcut  :demon:.

Note to self - don't melt knee this year.

« Reply #3 on: 06 June, 2010, 09:58:04 pm »
Just follow Chris S ;)

Chris S

« Reply #4 on: 06 June, 2010, 10:00:06 pm »
Just follow Chris S ;)

I'm too slow...  :-[ ::-)

Yeah, yeah... I know - that should make me easy to follow...

simonp

« Reply #5 on: 06 June, 2010, 10:19:36 pm »
Track has 6399 points.

You could use a track but a route is preferable imo.  Chris has his version, I have mine which I gave to others.  It won't direct you off a pier into the sea (AFAIK).

Chris S

« Reply #6 on: 06 June, 2010, 10:21:42 pm »

You could use a track but a route is preferable imo.  Chris has his version, I have mine which I gave to others.  It won't direct you off a pier into the sea (AFAIK).