Author Topic: First mountain bike - a reminisence  (Read 1517 times)

First mountain bike - a reminisence
« on: 19 July, 2023, 06:13:06 am »
Mountain bikes first came to the UK in the 1980s, when I was a student. I cant remember the exact year.
The first one in the family was a Muddy Fox which my brother got second hand (OK, Muddy Fox are UK built).
I took the mountain bike term at face value and haled this thing off to Conic Hill at Loch Lomond. The intrepid newbie mountain biker puts the quick release seatpost down ready for the descent of the walking path... and promptly falls off squashing nuts on the top tube. Owwcch.

My first new bike was a Trek 720, steel frame and no boingy bits in those days. Chosen after voraciously reading Mountian Biking magazine from WH Smith. I am sure those of this parish remember Mint Sauce.
The nearest dealer was located at the holiday park in Aberfoyle (I come from Glasgow). I guess the business did hire bikes for holidaymakers so bought a lot of them.  Off I go with the family dog in the back of my Talbot (Chrysler) Alpine hatchback.
I picked the Trek up sealed in its box, and IIRC got a couple of quid off for assembling it myself. Great bike.

I remember a solo expedition along the Stockiemuir road, where a pack of mountain bikers approached the other way and the shout of "Moonters" went up and they stopped for a chat. It really was that unusual in those days to see a mountain bike.

Another memory is taking the poor dog in my VW Jetta out to Loch Carron and riding the gravel track there in hard frost and snow. The dog loved lolloping along beside me. But when we got back to the car he collapsed in the footwell. Tired and happy dog but his paw pads must have been very sore.

That bike lasted till I moved to London. Nicked and reported to police - amazingly police sergeant got it back, by taking it from thief chappie who when challenged said something along the lines of "no contest" and gave up the bike.