Author Topic: Robot mowers  (Read 12120 times)

citoyen

• Occasionally rides a bike
Robot mowers
« on: 02 June, 2019, 05:03:50 pm »
We have two large expanses of lawn and neither the time nor the inclination to look after them* so I’m seriously considering investing in a robot mower - possibly two, one for the front lawn and one for the rear.

Anyone in yacf land have one? Any advice or recommendations? Any pitfalls I should be aware of?

I haven’t researched the subject in any depth yet, so I am a complete noob on this subject.

*apart from anything else, it’s time that could be better spent on the bike.
"The future's all yours, you lousy bicycles."

PaulF

• "World's Scariest Barman"
  • It's only impossible if you stop to think about it
Re: Robot mowers
« Reply #1 on: 02 June, 2019, 05:41:19 pm »
Electric sheep instead?

citoyen

« Reply #2 on: 02 June, 2019, 05:43:36 pm »
I have considered getting a sheep (or goat) but I don't know how the dog would take to it. Also that would also require the front garden to be fenced in.

Vince

• Can't climb; won't climb
« Reply #3 on: 02 June, 2019, 06:04:36 pm »
I think your front lawn would need some sort of boundary to stop the mower straying (or being rustled).

Says he who know nothing either.
216km from Marsh Gibbon

PaulF

« Reply #5 on: 03 June, 2019, 06:38:29 am »
I have considered getting a sheep (or goat) but I don't know how the dog would take to it. Also that would also require the front garden to be fenced in.

As you’re essentially talking about an agricultural version of a Roomba and you have a dog you may want to read this https://www.boredpanda.com/robot-vacuum-cleaner-spreads-dog-shit-everywhere/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=organic ;D

« Reply #6 on: 03 June, 2019, 07:20:27 am »