Author Topic: 300 perm recomendations  (Read 1632 times)

300 perm recomendations
« on: 28 August, 2014, 12:08:26 am »
Due to a broken step my goal of riding a 300 this season has been dashed   :'(.  However I hope to be fit enough to ride one in my October half term (17th Oct to 2nd Nov)   :thumbsup:.

Can anyone recommend an easy 300 perm that would suit.  I am not that experienced at night riding but I guess I will get more experience trying to ride a 300 at this time of year!  I am based near Derby but could travel to most places on/near a train line.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: 300 perm recomendations
« Reply #1 on: 28 August, 2014, 12:25:52 am »
Hello Ed,

You could try this:-

http://www.highergrangefarm.fsnet.co.uk/PeakAudax/mont.htm

The start is near Poynton, which is roughly an hour and a half on the train from Derby, via Stoke, though I'm not sure about getting back because you'll probably be finishing late.  Unless you start in the evening and ride overnight which is nice.  It's a good route and pretty flat.  If you drive over, there is a laybay outside the Deanwater Hotel, where you can park your car.  You can get proof of start and finish at the Shell station just up the road - and hot coffee at all hours from the machine.

Peter

« Reply #2 on: 28 August, 2014, 07:13:15 am »
The Rough Diamond is a brilliant first 300
http://www.aukweb.net/perms/detail/MR07/

« Reply #3 on: 28 August, 2014, 08:01:55 am »
The Rough Diamond is a brilliant first 300
http://www.aukweb.net/perms/detail/MR07/

yes it`s a great ride (calendar event ) but I`m not sure how the lanes / towpaths sections / City centre @ Glos would be at night (which given earlier dusk now would be  likely)---or do it in reverse ?
....after the `tarte de pommes`, and  fortified by a couple of shots of limoncellos,  I flew up the Col de Bavella whilst thunderstorms rolled around the peaks above

CrazyEnglishTriathlete

• Miles eaten don't satisfy hunger