Author Topic: Advice for my first self build  (Read 3837 times)

Advice for my first self build
« on: 08 January, 2016, 12:54:02 pm »
I'm an experienced audaxer (completed first PBP in 2015) planning on building my first bike this year and want it to be an Audax mile-eater.  I've been riding my first road bike since I bought it in 2009 (Bianchi Via Nirone C2C)  but now I want to build something more audax friendly to my own specifications.  This will also serve to teach me bike mechanics, something which I always feel hopelessely inadequate at.
I have already made some decisions on components, including fixed mudguards, disc brakes, pannier dropouts, dynamo hub etc.  This thread is to gather advice on the benefits and drawbacks of suggested components, starting with frame type.
What type of frame would you recommend for Audax and why? Steel, Titanium, or Aluminium?  I don't really want to know what you ride unless it is backed up by some reasoning and/or comparison to lesser previous experiences.
39. Because on every real bicycle there is the unseen pennant of progress, the standard of democracy, the banner of freedom.

Re: Advice for my first self build
« Reply #1 on: 08 January, 2016, 01:09:29 pm »
It's a question asked on here all the time. Ask three people which material to use for a frame and you will get three different answers, the fourth person you ask is then likely to say 'I use carbon'.

The experts will be along shortly but what is your budget and do you ride a bike at the moment, if so what material is that made from and do you like it?

I built myself a bike for Audax but never really got started. It's a Genesis and is made from steel. I love it, but the reason for buying was entirely down to aesthetics and the fact steel stood out in the café against all of the carbon bling at my last cycling club. I've spent many comfortable hours in the saddle on it and it suits me.

However, that is likely to be as much to do with geometry as material.