Author Topic: [LEL17] Help with Garmin  (Read 4085 times)

[LEL17] Help with Garmin
« on: 23 July, 2017, 09:34:30 pm »
Hello guys,

I'm quite new to Garmin (I've got Edge 1000 recently) and wanted to ask - how you are going to set the route? If I use the the official routes from one control to another, then I will have only data for each individual segment. I want that too, but at the same time I want to have the whole journey date (for example, average speed or distance) at any given time.

Any help?

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
Re: Help with Garmin
« Reply #1 on: 23 July, 2017, 09:40:34 pm »
Why? The brevet card tells you when each control closes and what distance it is from the start and any watch/ clock tells you how far you are ahead of the closing time at that location. The only time you need more detailed info is between each control and the official routes will give you detail along individual sections.
Wheel meet again, don't know where, don't know when...

« Reply #2 on: 23 July, 2017, 09:48:14 pm »
You could fit an old-fashioned bike computer alongside your Garmin which could then give you info about your total distance and overall average speed.

« Reply #3 on: 23 July, 2017, 09:52:47 pm »
You could fit an old-fashioned bike computer alongside your Garmin which could then give you info about your total distance and overall average speed.

Although that will only give moving average. Unless you know of one that will give overall average??? If you do I'd love that as a reliable backup!

FYI an etrex will keep all the recorded data separate from the navigation. Dunno if the Edge is the same.

John

LMT

« Reply #4 on: 23 July, 2017, 10:04:18 pm »
I'll have two units running, one being an Edge 520 and the other being an Etrex 20. The Etrex will be for navigation and the moving and overall average speed. The 520 will be used to monitor HR and power which will be on a stage by stage basis.

wilkyboy

• "nick" by any other name
    • 16-inch wheels