Author Topic: DIY BODGE ADVICE  (Read 4853 times)

Wal

DIY BODGE ADVICE
« on: 14 November, 2013, 05:56:23 pm »
I have an older giant x-speed sitting in the shed, still a good bike, but I fancy converting it, something I have never done before. What I want to do is spray the frame, add randonnuer bars, which would include adding new brake leavers, add a brooks saddle, and the tricky part, change the fork to a non-telescopic carbon or similar... I would consider changing the tyres from 700x42mm currently to maybe 35s... the hope is that this will be my winter hack and trail bike... with shiny paintjob and chrome mudguards etc... The main problem I have is sourcing a suitable fork replacement and the bigger question: Is this a doable winter project?

Cheers, W.

Information on the bike below or at: http://wbb3.giant-community.de/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=880

Giant X-Speed

Frame: AluxX 6061 Lightweight aero aluminum frame
Fork: Suntour NCX-D LO suspension fork with lockout, magnesium, adjustable spring preload, 63mm axle travel
damper : -
circuit (front / rear): Shimano Nexave / Shimano New Deore LX
Brakes (front / rear): Shimano V-brakes
Wheels (hubs / rims / tires): Shimano Deore, Rigida X-plorer, Schwalbe Hurricane GX, 700x42mm 
Frame sizes: L = 54 cm. 

Torslanda

• Professional Gobshite
  • Just a tart for retro kit . . .
    • John's Bikes
Re: DIY BODGE ADVICE
« Reply #1 on: 14 November, 2013, 09:29:12 pm »
I could easily do that for you - the only trouble is you're a bit more than a bus ride away.

Don't 'rattle can' the frame use a powder coater but be sure they know that the frame is aluminium - not steel.