Poll

Do you pay for your music?

Yes, I buy it all in at least one format
There are some things I will copy/download for free
Buying music is for chumpz
I use streaming services
Misc/Other

Author Topic: Do you pay for your music?  (Read 2531 times)

Re: Do you pay for your music?
« Reply #25 on: 17 February, 2020, 04:13:54 pm »
Need to be able to pick multiple options.

I have a Spotify subscription. I also sometimes buy CDs at gigs. If I like a particular track I've heard, I'll purchase the track directly (online purchase).
<i>Marmite slave</i>

caerau

• SR x 3 - PBP fail but 1090 km - hey - not too bad
« Reply #26 on: 17 February, 2020, 05:22:43 pm »
The only thing that holds me back from buying a Spotify or Applemusic subscription is that I've noticed that others that do this, simply listen to 'greatest hits' music now.  I like to listen to the dirty album tracks from my fave bands so personally I still stick to CDs.

Since I also have a fairly expensive Hi-Fi system - I'm a bit reluctant to make a £300 CD player redundant - and those things (mp3 subscription downloads are also compressed in my (admittedly very little) experience).  Spotify tracks from my TV stream sound shit in comparison...at least when I've tried on the odd occasion.
It's a reverse Elvis thing.

Wowbagger

• Stout dipper
    • Stuff mostly about weather
« Reply #27 on: 17 February, 2020, 05:30:19 pm »
I have quite a large collection of paid-for music but I also download the .pdfs that are out of copyright, from https://imslp.org/wiki/Main_Page and use Forscore when playing, reading off the ipad. It's not entirely satisfactory as the screen dims if I don't turn the page within a certain time, but having loads of printed sheets is also a nuisance. So is having, for example, Beethoven's sonatas in 3 volumes and finding the pages turning back on themselves until you have weakened the book's spine enough that the page stays open.
Quote from: Dez
It doesn’t matter where you start. Just start.