Author Topic: Audax/Touring bike recommendations  (Read 4868 times)

Audax/Touring bike recommendations
« on: 25 February, 2020, 06:28:21 pm »
I know it has been asked many times before but looking for the latest thoughts from the folks out there. I am looking for something that will cover audax as well as some short tours with panniers.

Below is what I have and what I’m looking/not looking for and what I’m willing to consider.

First off I have been riding a Kenisis T2 for the last 6 years for pretty much every audax, most winter riding and short trips away. It has been a good bike to ride but is getting to the stage that something new is on the cards. My only real gripe with the bike has been the clearance for mudguards and 25mm tyres which takes a bit of fiddling to get right and can rub with a little road crap.

What I don’t want is a steel framed bike, not that I don’t like steel but living on the west coast of Scotland the rain and salt water just don’t work well with steel (I have tried on several occasions over the years). I’m up for any other frame type that matches what I want.

To disc or not to disc?? All the setups I have at the moment are non-disc so not sure if I want to go down that road as yet ( I have several non-disc dynamo hubs still in good condition as well as lots of spare front/rear wheels etc.) but a recent look at what’s out there suggests that disc is the way ahead ( at least that’s what the manufactures are indicating). I’m not against disc if the right bike is out there.

Budget – I can stretch to about £2k as a maximum but would prefer below that (would consider looking at second hand bikes to keep me under budget)

Over to you all now

Roberto

Re: Audax/Touring bike recommendations
« Reply #1 on: 25 February, 2020, 08:44:30 pm »
IME aluminium can corrode even faster than steel does when you spray it with salty water, so maybe the steel frames you tried weren't painted/corrosion proofed that well?