Author Topic: Stealth Camping UK  (Read 13480 times)

Chris S

Stealth Camping UK
« on: 10 February, 2011, 08:38:24 pm »
Anyone here seasoned practitioners?

Looks to me like the Hennessy Hammock is a tool of choice. Any preferred locations? Are the Forestry Commission really that vigilant about it?

I'm talking shelter only here - no fires, and definitely LNT.

Re: Stealth Camping UK
« Reply #1 on: 10 February, 2011, 08:42:45 pm »
You mean that private bio fuel estate with unfettered access?
Get a bicycle. You will never regret it, if you live- Mark Twain

Chris S

« Reply #2 on: 10 February, 2011, 08:43:46 pm »
You mean that private estate with unfettered access?

;D

Now now.... Politics and Big Issues is over there ---> :)

« Reply #3 on: 11 February, 2011, 01:28:17 am »
Anyone here seasoned practitioners?
Not since I was a student, and a few years thereafter. I used to bivvy on Ingleton common most weekend, even after they put up the "campers will be persecuted" signs.

It's easy enough provided you follow the basics. It's just a matter of being non obvious.
Go to bed at dusk, when it's still light enough not to need a torch, get up early.
If you go to the pub before bed, make sure your kipping spot is sussed out beforehand, again so you don't need to wave torches around too much.
Separate eating/cooking from sleeping. If you are cooking in the evening, sleep somewhere else. In the morning either move on a bit before breakfast, or at least get everything else packed and ready to go before cooking.

Subscribing to the above, anywhere goes, really. You can even just hop over a stone wall and rely on the wall to keep you out of sight of the road. Just check there isn't a bull in the field first   ::-). I've used a pedestrian underpass under the A65 or the side of a garage in Maidenhead.

This was all mostly bivvy bag rather than tent. However, if you can't see cars on the road, a house, or a footpath from your tent, you can't be seen.