Author Topic: Newbie GPS Questions  (Read 1333 times)

Newbie GPS Questions
« on: 07 October, 2015, 05:50:21 pm »
I am completely new to GPS and Strava; I do not own a smart phone; I run Debian Linux.

I am considering GPS as part of the planning for a LEJOG to raise funds for Affordable Counselling in the South West next year.

The idea is to enable followers, colleagues and donors to track my progress, probably using Strava, in much the same way as it has been possible to track Steve's progress on the Tommy Godwin record attempt.

Looking at a simple Garmin device, I note that proprietry software is only provided for Windoze and Mac, not for Linux.

Googling suggests that some devices enable manual uploading of FIT or GPX files to a laptop, which can then be uploaded to Strava.  I'm not sure if the Edge 20 would permit manual uploading.

On the other hand, this enterprising chap has created a Garmin Communicator Plugin for Linux.  However, the Edge 20 is not listed, and it's not clear whether it is a device that allows access to its file system.  Andreas Diesner states:

"If you do have a device (manufacturer does not matter) which offers access to the file system of the device ([Linux] automatically mounts the device, so you can access it using the file manager) - you can easily transfer GPX files to the device using the plugin."

I might have to borrow a smart phone for the ride, in order to be able to upload to Strava and file daily reports, as I don't want to lug a laptop around.

Does anyone have any experience of using similar equipment and software to the above, and how did you get on?  What is necessary for track logging to be uploaded automatically, ie as I ride?

Any help appreciated by this total newbie!

fuaran

• rothair gasta
Re: Newbie GPS Questions
« Reply #1 on: 07 October, 2015, 07:11:11 pm »