Author Topic: First timer at a 24 - what do I need to do?  (Read 9859 times)

marcusjb

• Full of bon courage.
First timer at a 24 - what do I need to do?
« on: 17 October, 2013, 10:24:42 am »
Right - I've wanted to do a 24 for a while, and I reckon it fits with next year's plans to ride the ESCA 24.

Complete novice time trialler - ridden a hilly 10.6 mile one around Richmond Park and that's it.

I haven't yet even considered supported or unsupported - for the moment I want to focus on training and bike.

Training - miles, faster miles and longer stints without stopping are my rough ideas!  I have Richmond Park on my doorstep (even more now) - so plan to use laps of the park as my baseline in terms of speed and consistency.  Sadly, turbo is on eBay - I hate the thing, I'd rather head out in the cold and wet, and I just do not have space in the new house.

Any ideas on slightly more structured ideas for training?

Bike - I will be riding my Audax bike - there's a one-in, one-out policy on bikes here - so as much as I want a little carbon rocketship, it's not happening. 

So - mudguards and Carradice off. 

Aero bars?  Well, I guess so?  What changes am I likely to have to make to the bike (stem length?  saddle fore/aft position?)?

Wheels - I have a lightish set of 28/32 Hope/Archetype wheels for summer usage.  I assume that dynohubs are not the done thing (throwing away however many Watts not sitting well with TT world?)?  For a one off ride, I could certainly look at hiring some trick wheels if people think they would really make a difference (it would look pretty comical to have a set of Zipp 404s or whatever on a steel Audax bike though!). 

I doubt I am going to be in the game of pointy hats and skinsuits though.

What else for a complete newbie at the discipline?