Author Topic: Macbook charger cable - repairable?  (Read 1957 times)

Macbook charger cable - repairable?
« on: 30 April, 2018, 10:20:46 pm »
I see that the plug on my mid 2011 Air will soon part company with the cable. This is the L-shaped Magsafe, 45W charger.

Is it possible to get these plugs rewired on the existing cable? By someone other than myself, that is, for I am not good with the small electrickery. The rest of the cable is in good order so it seems wasteful to do anything more extensive.

I see the Apple replacement for this - the whole adapter and cable - is £79, which seems rather excessive.

hellymedic

• Just do it!
Re: Macbook charger cable - repairable?
« Reply #1 on: 01 May, 2018, 12:35:45 am »
Sympathies! BTDT bought the pricy charger.

Second charger cable is worn but working. I've splinted it with sticky tape and it's OK so far. I think others suggested Sugru when I posted about this in the past.

« Reply #2 on: 01 May, 2018, 04:33:20 am »
If it's lasted 7 years that's about 6 more years than I typically get out of them.

Usually they split too close to the plug to be fixable. Which means you need a replacement cable, and as Apple doesn't sell these you end up with some dodgy third party clone. After trying and failing with this route a few times I've resigned myself to a new Apple charger each time.

The cable itself is single core coax, so not the easiest to splice without a big and/or fragile lump.

(The chargers for USB C MacBooks finally have an unpluggable cable, although that's no good for you)

Jaded

• The Codfather
  • Formerly known as Jaded
« Reply #3 on: 01 May, 2018, 05:33:16 am »
If it is still working, protect it with Sugru. Whilst I’ve not done this for a MacBook charger, I have a number of lightning cables nattily sleeved with Sugru.
It is simpler than it looks.

« Reply #4 on: 01 May, 2018, 06:50:35 am »
Ebay has the replacement cables.