Author Topic: [LEL17] Weather  (Read 6892 times)

[LEL17] Weather
« on: 28 July, 2017, 05:47:43 pm »
I've no experience of riding beyond 600k though, as a NORTHERNER, I have plenty of hours riding in the rain.  Looking at the forecast for the next few days, I'm wondering if any one will consider abandoning their spreadsheets.  I wonder if it might be an idea to ride as far as you can on the first day, if it is dry and then use some of the wet weather for sleep time, considering that (in my opinion) there is no way anyone is going to be dry, after about an hour in the weather we are having in Manchester at the moment.  All talk of rain jackets and shoecovers is wishful thinking.  Take lots of socks and gloves - a glove change is a great boost.

Good luck, everyone - see you at Eskdalemuir.

Peter

Re: Weather
« Reply #1 on: 28 July, 2017, 08:30:03 pm »
I've no experience of riding beyond 600k though, as a NORTHERNER, I have plenty of hours riding in the rain.  Looking at the forecast for the next few days, I'm wondering if any one will consider abandoning their spreadsheets.  I wonder if it might be an idea to ride as far as you can on the first day, if it is dry and then use some of the wet weather for sleep time, considering that (in my opinion) there is no way anyone is going to be dry, after about an hour in the weather we are having in Manchester at the moment.  All talk of rain jackets and shoecovers is wishful thinking.  Take lots of socks and gloves - a glove change is a great boost.

Good luck, everyone - see you at Eskdalemuir.

Peter

What?  You're going to be in Eskdalemuir, holder of the UK weather record for highest rainfall in a 30 minute period?

« Reply #2 on: 28 July, 2017, 08:42:50 pm »
Records are made to be broken (especially when they are by Wet Wet Wet).

CrazyEnglishTriathlete

• Miles eaten don't satisfy hunger
  • Chartered accountant in 5 different decades
    • CET Ride Reports and Blogs
« Reply #3 on: 28 July, 2017, 10:18:07 pm »