Author Topic: Moving from HR training to 'power'  (Read 8287 times)

rob

Moving from HR training to 'power'
« on: 26 October, 2015, 03:04:20 pm »
I've been training for the last 2 years using HR and achieved some reasonable gains.   The power brigade on the TT forum, basically say that training by HR is a complete waste and only using power will bring about the correct results.   I'm a bit of a technophobe and pretty tight.   Given that a crank based power meter for my TT bike plus all the extra gubbins would cost me just shy of a grand I chose to give it a miss.    What I have done is to purchase a Garmin 500 with cadence/speed and HRM to give me some metrics to work with.

Given that the TT bike is fixed my plan was to use the same gear and the same tension settings on the turbo and gauge power using cadence and speed, downloading the data and looking at HR later on.    As a test I did an hour at my top-end tempo HR and watched what my cadence did.   I knew that power would drop off over the hour, but I was pretty amazed that my cadence went from 95rpm to just over 60rpm over an hour, maintaining an HR within 2-3 beats of target.   The average cadence at the end of the session was 72rpm.   The data may be a bit skewed as I've had 8 weeks of just commuting since PBP and my last turbo session was in July.   I had also just had a cold.

I'm going to try an hour of tempo again tonight, but I'm not sure whether to use HR or try to pace the session at, say , 75rpm and see how HR moves.

I think once I find the target cadences I can start to work my sessions around slowly increasing cadence (read power) and duration over the next 6 months.

Is this a valid approach or flawed ?

Chris S

Re: Moving from HR training to 'power'
« Reply #1 on: 26 October, 2015, 03:12:30 pm »
How about hooking up your turbo and gubbins to something like TrainerRoad? I've seen comparison graphs elsewhere that show a perfectly acceptable comparison between a power meter and virtual power.