Author Topic: Riding to Rowing events 2011: #2  (Read 1224 times)

rower40

• Not my boat. Now sold.
Riding to Rowing events 2011: #2
« on: 17 April, 2011, 07:12:21 pm »
Another Rowing Club Supporter's Ride - with added faerie

A much closer destination this time: Leicester.  Out AND back - no train for me today.  I plotted a route using B and C roads from Worthington - the end of the S*str*ns converted-railway-line.  While it was a pretty straight line in two dimensions, I neglected to consider the Z axis.  A major grimp (for the Midlands) of 200m in the space of 11km through Thringstone, Whitwick and Abbot's Oak, was closely followed by a stunning darkside descent down Polly Botts Lane to Newtown Linford, where I stopped for refuelling on chocolate and a bacon sandwich.  While eating, I studied the village noticeboard - one notice (I can't remember what for) required one to contact Gill Bates.  No matter how many times I read that name, my mind couldn't help spoonerizing it to the Microsoft boss.

Further descending to Groby, then a climb past Leicester County Hall.  What does LOROS stand for?  There were many signs to it.  The A50 shared-use pavement has some not-quite-drop-enough drop-kerbs - I was dreading a snakebite puncture.  Then another bit of urban converted railway got me to the canal towpath, which I followed to the regatta.