Author Topic: Animated .gif  (Read 1677 times)

woollypigs

• Mr Peli
    • woollypigs
Animated .gif
« on: 02 May, 2013, 10:48:16 am »
Well the internet has come full circle.

When I started playing around on the net surfing and building website  - animated .gifs were the bees knees and over the years they died out \o/

Now in the last few months they are back big time - crappy image quality eating up cpu and page load/render time.

Why? Didn't we get aDSL and faster ISPs along with better and faster GPU and CPUs along with more RAM than you can shake a stick at to avoid this crap.

Just been on one page with 19 animated .gifs, at the minimum didn't wait for the page to fully load to find out, after 3min the page was still loading/rendering. At least one of these I have seen on youtube a few years back, so why do a .gif of this ?
Current mood: AARRRGGGGHHHHH !!! #bollockstobrexit

Woofage

• Tofu-eating Wokerati
  • Ain't no hooves on my bike.
Re: Animated .gif
« Reply #1 on: 02 May, 2013, 10:58:39 am »
My guess is it's a really crap replacement for Flash... (no Flash on many mobile devices including all iThings).
Pen Pusher

Jaded

• The Codfather
  • Formerly known as Jaded
« Reply #2 on: 02 May, 2013, 11:05:39 am »
Content creator ignorance?
It is simpler than it looks.

woollypigs

• Mr Peli
    • woollypigs
« Reply #3 on: 02 May, 2013, 11:39:56 am »
Any minute now Hamster Dance will be going viral (again, but can it go viral since it was sent around the block before viral was the thing to do)

David Martin

• Thats Dr Oi You thankyouverymuch
« Reply #4 on: 03 May, 2013, 05:17:30 pm »
I have just built a web page with 20 different animated gifs on it. Simple 3D rotation around a single axis - does the job. Don't want to mess around with embedding video.
"By creating we think. By living we learn" - Patrick Geddes

Pancho

• لَا أَعْبُدُ مَا تَعْبُدُونَ
« Reply #5 on: 03 May, 2013, 05:54:46 pm »