Author Topic: Tent advice  (Read 10032 times)

jane

• Mad pie-hating female
Tent advice
« on: 21 May, 2011, 03:58:17 pm »
I have had a few tents over the years. And as. I upgraded, have passed them on via free cycle. Now, I am perfectly happy with the Vango Spirit 200plus that I have been using for a few years now.  But, it has seen very  heavy use and is rather the worse for wear.  I could get another one, I could get an overdraft and get a Hilleberg Nallo GT (it's a possibility, I think they're lovely and was drooling over a couple in Malvolio's field on the camping weekend.  I need something with a big porch, 2 people size, and I'd really like some kind of window in the porch outer if that's possible.  The Vango is just less than 3 kg and I really wouldn't want anything heavier. I have been Internet hunting extensively, but haven't seen quite what I want yet.  (some of the Hillebergs looked as though they had some kind of window in them in Wales.... Do they?)
Anyway, any advice out there?

Re: Tent advice
« Reply #1 on: 21 May, 2011, 04:08:01 pm »
I don't think that there are any Hillebergs with 'windows'.   Our HillebergNammatj 3GT (nearer to 4kgs  :o ) has a fly mesh door that you can deploy in place of the fabric door.    It also has an eyebrow-style vent at the top of each end.   Some newer Nallo models have this at the vestibule end too.   These can be closed, mesh or fully open.   I suppose you can use this as a window but it is a bit limiting.

A Nallo 2 or 3 GT is a great touring tent, both under 3kgs.   We went for the Nammatj having managed to destruct a very well-used and abused Nallo 3GT in gale force winds in Shetland last summer.    The extra venting capabilities of the Nammatj appeal to me too.

gordon taylor

« Reply #2 on: 21 May, 2011, 04:54:37 pm »