Author Topic: Potential Bronchiectasis diagnosis  (Read 305 times)

Beardy

• Shedist
Potential Bronchiectasis diagnosis
« on: 15 March, 2024, 07:34:36 pm »
How worried should I be?

I’ve been coughing for 4 or 5 years now, progressing from winter only to all year around. Chest X-rays constantly come back clear and I’m not responding in any significant way to Ventolin and steroid inhalers.

The GP has referred me to someone with a ?? Bronchiectasis? On the referral letter and as I no longer have health insurance I’m now waiting for the call up.

Is there anything I can do to try and improve things in the mean time?
For every complex problem in the world, there is a simple and easily understood solution that’s wrong.

Re: Potential Bronchiectasis diagnosis
« Reply #1 on: 15 March, 2024, 08:22:10 pm »
I was diagnosed with this many years ago after the consultant ruled out lots of other possible causes of a persistant cough. (TB, cancer, asthma, allergies etc etc).
It's damage to the very tiniest air tubes in the lungs.
He reckoned it might be due to having whooping cough very badly as an infant (in pre-vaccination days).
Said he was seeing it in an increasing number of folks my age who had whooping cough when young, and that the damage had always been there but didn't become troublesome until lung function naturally reduced with age.
(For a while I was on a proton pump inhibitor - not convinced it did any good, and when the formulation was changed and wrecked my innards I told them I'd rather put up with the cough!)
So the only advice really was to just reduce the irritation by sucking a boiled sweet, which is more effective than just drinking water.
It can get worse with strenuous exercise, especially in very cold weather, but quickly settles back to "normal"
It's irritating, and I no longer use hostel dorm accommodation due to irritating others.
But it isn't going to kill me.
Let me know how you get on, please.

hellymedic

• Just do it!