Author Topic: Playstations and all that stuff - advice for complete novice  (Read 3239 times)

Redlight

• Enjoying life in the slow lane
Playstations and all that stuff - advice for complete novice
« on: 17 October, 2018, 01:07:47 pm »
My son appears to be the only boy in his class that doesn't have access to on-line video games. At the age of 11, that's a big thing.  So, despite my many misgivings, I am succumbing and plan to commission Santa (in whom he still pretends to believe) to address this shortcoming in his social standing. 

Once installed, usage will be monitored, so I've no fear that within three days he will be playing High School Massacre or whatever other hideously violent games are out there.  The current fad is Fortnite, which I have seen and can live with, even though I suspect it is addictive and destroys brain cells.  No doubt by Xmas something new will have taken over.

But where do I start? As one who last played a video game when Space Invaders was the height of sophistication, I feel completely adrift.  I could go into somewhere like Currys and be sold to by a fast-fingered 19 year old who uses only one word in three that I can understand (that word probably being "like") but I think I may get better and more comprehensible advice here.

So, what do I need?  I have a TV with a big enough screen for the visuals to look OK.  I know I need a Playstation console and I've heard that the PS4 is the one to get, but there seem to be several models. Is it a case of most expensive is best?   And then do I need any other special equipment or cables?  Given that he'll be using the TV in our family room, I guess some headphones would be sensible.  And do people have any tips on limiting use or filtering out inappropriate material?

Any advice from experienced gamers (or their parents) would be greatly appreciated.

Why should anybody steal a watch when they can steal a bicycle?

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse