Author Topic: audaxing without a cheque book?  (Read 14284 times)

Nonsteeler

• If nothing goes wrong, I go wrong.
    • Elsewhere
audaxing without a cheque book?
« on: 12 October, 2009, 11:03:29 am »
I am new to the audax way of riding. I just entered my first event (dartmoor devil). I believe, I like the idea of audaxes esp. after reading this thread: What did my £25.00 get me ?. But it is all not so easy to start with. OK, there is this 'snail mail' issue. Yeah fine, we have to support royal mail. How retro cool - and a bit of a change :).

But my real problems are cheques. I ditched my cheque book a couple of years ago. I was very happy with that until I wanted to pay for the dartmoor devil - I ended up sending them a tenner with royal mail. And again, if I want to become a AUK member they want a cheque. Did I miss something? Surly, there must be another way of paying (credit/debit card, paypal, bank transfer, direct debit ....)? You can do this without cheque book, right? Or am I wrong?
Sadly, melancholy doesn't pay my rent.

Re: audaxing without a cheque book?
« Reply #1 on: 12 October, 2009, 11:09:13 am »
"Yes please" said Squirrel "biscuits are our favourite things."

vorsprung

• Opposites Attract
    • Audaxing
« Reply #2 on: 12 October, 2009, 11:32:13 am »
If you become a member of AUK some events (not all) allow entry with paypal payment

So instead of 2x SAE+cheque to organiser you fill in an online form
Instead of a printed route sheet you get a link to a PDF and print your own route sheet
Your completed brevet card is returned to you in a envelope supplied by the organiser.  There is a surcharge for this

« Reply #3 on: 12 October, 2009, 12:09:52 pm »
And again, if I want to become a AUK member they want a cheque. Did I miss something? Surly, there must be another way of paying (credit/debit card, paypal, bank transfer, direct debit ....)? You can do this without cheque book, right? Or am I wrong?

You are wrong  :)