Author Topic: Reasons to carry cash  (Read 5255 times)

Regulator

• That's Councillor Regulator to you...
Re: Reasons to carry cash
« Reply #50 on: 29 May, 2020, 10:56:19 am »
I know a place where mobiles are not allowed. If I contact my friend that works there, I know I won't get a reply until after work.

The reality is they're relatively few and far between these days.

We have got to the stage now where the government is banning the use of pagers in hospitals and mandating the use of mobile phones. 
Quote from: clarion
I completely agree with Reg.

Green Party Councillor

rob

« Reply #51 on: 29 May, 2020, 11:28:36 am »
I know a place where mobiles are not allowed. If I contact my friend that works there, I know I won't get a reply until after work.

When I worked in a bank you weren't allowed to use mobiles on the floor and you had to go into the adjoining corridor to have a conversation.   The compliance team walked round the floor during the day to keep an eye on people.

Cudzoziemiec

• Ride adventurously and stop for a brew.
« Reply #52 on: 29 May, 2020, 12:02:52 pm »

When I worked in a bank you weren't allowed to use mobiles on the floor and you had to go into the adjoining corridor to have a conversation.   The compliance team walked round the floor during the day to keep an eye on people.
That's more the kind of place I expected to hear about, as well as sensitive industrial processes and similar.
Riding a concrete path through the nebulous and chaotic future.

« Reply #53 on: 29 May, 2020, 12:18:06 pm »
Sizewell nuclear power station prevents access with a phone. Some bits you used to be able to go in but they would put a sticker over the camera and check the sticker was still there at every security door but I haven't been there for ages. My work mate goes into the even more sensitive bits than I ever went in and he has to leave his phone in a locker at security.