Author Topic: Tent recommendations please, two person, light and compact, sitting height.  (Read 3702 times)

This is not for me! My daughter is thinking of investing in a tent for cycling and walking, alone (cycling) or with her partner (walling). Requirement for it to be light enough to be easily carried by one (2kg?), compact for going on the bike (she has a big enough rucksack for walking to be less of a problem) and roomy enough to give space for sitting up, getting dressed etc when there are two of them. Obviously storage space for belongings is also a consideration. This is being considered as an investment, we typically make tents last 15+ years, and rather different in style to my last 1p buy.

I have no current knowledge of this sort of level at all, what can people suggest? It will be bought in France but I am assuming that most of the major players in this field will be present on the continent.

Zed43

• prefers UK hills over Dutch mountains
I'm a big fan of single-pole pyramid style tents. Have a look at the Tipik Aston which has a proper inner that is half-sized leaving a vestibule. I bought his 1-person Pioulou ST a while ago but haven't used it in anger yet; quality seems very good.

Bear Bones in the UK can make you a bespoke carbon pole if you want to save a few grams.

I think you need to narrow it down with some preferences.
I like -
To sleep across the door
Two doors
Solid inner with mesh options
Freestanding
Non flapping

My perfect tent (Terra Nova, Solar 2.2) has been discontinued, though there's several similar MSR models or this one discussed and reviewed here recently
https://yacf.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=123067.0

Cudzoziemiec

• Ride adventurously and stop for a brew.