Author Topic: Beer - why is it making me ill?  (Read 2450 times)

Beer - why is it making me ill?
« on: 30 May, 2011, 10:56:11 pm »
I've been drinking beer for over 30 years. 4-6 pints a night in my early 20's with no ill effect. I drank less frequently and fewer pints as I aged. About 4 years ago I'd only get a mild hangover after 4-5 pints.

In the last 18 months or so, I've been feeling nausious the morning after drinking 4 or more pints, and it's been getting worse.

Last night I drank 3 pints and was sick and generally 'wiped out' for about 1/2 a day.

Is there something wrong with me? Am I just getting old? >:(

Should I just give beer up altogether?  :facepalm:
If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is...

border-rider

Re: Beer - why is it making me ill?
« Reply #1 on: 30 May, 2011, 11:01:32 pm »
Getting old, and your liver's getting tired.  And beer is stronger these days than when were lads...

3-4's a lot for  me too these days (though oddly I can still drink almost any amount of wine)

hellymedic

• Just do it!
« Reply #2 on: 30 May, 2011, 11:03:23 pm »
It might be your age, it might be your liver, it might be something else. I think you should see your GP and have some simple blood tests for liver function, kidney function, blood sugar and a blood count. These are all cheap simple tests so your GP shouldn't grumble.
Leave off the sauce for now.

Gattopardo

• Lord of the sith
  • Overseaing the building of the death star
« Reply #3 on: 30 May, 2011, 11:10:31 pm »
Drink G and T or long Island ice tea.

Mrs Pingu

• Who ate all the pies? Me
    • Twitter
« Reply #4 on: 31 May, 2011, 07:07:05 pm »
Can you drink anything else?
Do not clench. It only makes it worse.

« Reply #5 on: 31 May, 2011, 09:07:30 pm »
On the bright side, it could just be a particular yeast or similar. Adnams Broadside is lovely (and a little stronger than average) but not much does nasty things to me these days.

« Reply #6 on: 31 May, 2011, 10:07:48 pm »
Can you drink anything else?