Author Topic: [HAMR] Things we have to cope with  (Read 8668 times)

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
[HAMR] Things we have to cope with
« on: 15 January, 2015, 09:06:28 am »
Internal to team e-mail

Some bloody idiot flagged one of Steve's rides on Strava as having been done in a car. I logged into his account and removed the flag by contesting it which Strava have accepted. I told Drew exactly what had happened.

This might happen a lot and there is nothing we can do. Any Strava user can flag one of Steve's rides and I suspect some of the Tommy Godwin fans will continue to do this.
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

caerau

• SR x 3 - PBP fail but 1090 km - hey - not too bad
Re: Things we have to cope with
« Reply #1 on: 15 January, 2015, 09:08:56 am »
Annoying as that may be - surely the validation is more sophisticated than believing what any joe can do to a Strava fileā€¦?
It's a reverse Elvis thing.

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
« Reply #2 on: 15 January, 2015, 09:11:30 am »
There is the near real time tracking and matching Steve's heart rate with speed and gradient.

The best proof I can think of is to get out there and take photos of Steve riding past or to ride with him for a time and save your own tracks to Strava. Post those details publicly and it becomes very hard to throw doubt on Steve's tracks.
Wheel meet again, don't know where, don't know when...

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
« Reply #3 on: 15 January, 2015, 09:18:22 am »
My suggestion would be if it happens again -- Strava change their system - so that a query can be raised with them to review the complaint  - and not make the "flagging" public straight away, which caused an immediate query from UMCA.
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

IanDG

• The p*** artist formerly known as 'Windy'
    • the_dandg_rouleur
« Reply #4 on: 15 January, 2015, 09:48:39 am »