Author Topic: Stepping up to distances greater than 300km  (Read 7910 times)

Stepping up to distances greater than 300km
« on: 30 January, 2020, 10:52:26 pm »
Hi,

I have been audaxing regularly for nearly three years doing mainly 200km and 300km rides.

I have tried some rides longer than this and found them very tough. I managed to finish Brevet Cymru within the time limit last year but failed on 500 and 600 events.

My goal for this year is to complete an SR series and I am hoping for some advice on managing rides above 300km.

Part of my problem is fuelling my rides. I have not really had any strategy on what and when to eat and feel that this had caused me issues on longer rides. I am hoping that some members can share what works for them. Do you plan your food intake in advance?, if yes do you rely on what is available at controls or carry food with you? - how do you fuel during the small hours of the night?

Any other tips for what riders have found useful when stepping up distances will be gratefully received.

bludger

• Randonneur and bargain hunter
Re: Stepping up to distances greater than 300km
« Reply #1 on: 30 January, 2020, 11:03:35 pm »
I have done two > 300 rides so far, a 400 and a 600. The 400 was by far the hardest and you can read about it here https://calumonwheels.com/2019/12/08/the-daft-story-of-my-hardest-ride/amp/

For the 400 I had 'help' for the first 200 km and then was on my own. For the 600 it was pretty much 100% solo. It depends on your temperament but obviously if you have a team you can work with you can make the >300s much easier.