Author Topic: Moving to London?  (Read 1611 times)

Moving to London?
« on: 03 February, 2009, 12:23:46 pm »
Is this a good idea?
My cousin has been bugging me about moving to London for quite a while. She has this fantastic idea of us living together for a few months while she attempts to set me up with one of her best friends. I'm not against being set up with her friend, as she's really nice and we get on well together, but that's not the problem...

I'm living in Germany right now, teaching English, learning some German and desperately looking for a way out. I like Germany, but I really don't want to continue teaching English as a main job; though it could be useful on the side.

I have a masters in Peace and Development Studies and have been unsuccessfully applying for apprenticeships in various organisations.
I think London should be a better place to base myself, probably more job opportunities in the NGO and other sectors (or has everything dried up since the crash?) than here in North Germany. I have no problem working doing part-time work while searching or even while working as an intern, in fact it would probably be necessary.

I think the money I've saved here should support me for at least 6 months in London if I live frugally but I really don't want to end up crawling back to Bremen in a few months penniless and begging for my old job back. Here I have an amazingly cheap apartment and really low living costs but I need to get out.

Is everything all doom and gloom in London like we hear on the news or am I worrying about nothing? I would love to live in London for a few months at least, but don't want to move there if here are no job opportunities.

Sorry for the rambling post, but I've been swaying back and forwards on this one. Don't know what would be better.
Maybe I should just head of on a bike ride for a few months. (This is my plan if April arrives and I am still in Germany)

border-rider

Re: Moving to London?