Author Topic: Opera browser issues  (Read 895 times)

robgul

• Cycle:End-to-End webmaster
  • cyclist, Cytech accredited mechanic & woodworker
    • Cycle:End-to-End
Opera browser issues
« on: 10 February, 2024, 05:07:12 pm »
I've been using Opera on a Win 10 PC for about 6 months with ad blocking - just for watching YouTube . . .  it's been working fine until the last few days when it's been very slow to load, lots of buffering and resolution dropped to a very blurry 140 or so (which can be reset manually but still loads of buffering).

Using Firefox the speed and resolution are fine for YT - BUT all the ad blockers I can find don't work (YT comes up with a black screen and message)

It's a real PITA - anyone else had similar experiences . . . or can offer alternative solutions?

I've not tried Chrome for some time . . . but I'm guessing that YT and ad blockers aren't compatible given the parentage at Google.

Re: Opera browser issues
« Reply #1 on: 10 February, 2024, 05:26:00 pm »
Using Win 11 with Chrome and some flavour of adblocker that definitely does its job with YouTube.

Will check later. Though a quick Google suggests this might change soon.

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
« Reply #2 on: 10 February, 2024, 05:39:43 pm »
VLC, when it's not being the antidote to Windows codec problems, supports playing YouTube streams directly.  Usefully it *doesn't* support the additional gubbins needed to play the shitverts, so you get the video unadulterated.  Just copy the YouTube URL into the "Open Network Stream" wossname.

« Reply #3 on: 10 February, 2024, 07:53:48 pm »
VLC, when it's not being the antidote to Windows codec problems, supports playing YouTube streams directly.  Usefully it *doesn't* support the additional gubbins needed to play the shitverts, so you get the video unadulterated.  Just copy the YouTube URL into the "Open Network Stream" wossname.
Coo, so it does. Would never have thought of trying that. Thanks Kim.