Author Topic: 'First back' & Strava links: not in the spirit of Audax?  (Read 10143 times)

'First back' & Strava links: not in the spirit of Audax?
« on: 04 July, 2017, 07:55:33 pm »
Audax appealed to me *precisely* because of the non-competitive ethos: it seemed to be the opposite of the racing-obsessed, macho, 'wish I was a professional athlete' sportive scene.

I've really enjoyed taking part in Audaxes because you feel included, and the achievement is that you finish, not that you come first, second, third etc. Call me a mug, but I believe in that.

So it's disappointing to see folk post here and there that they were 'first back', and post passive-aggressive Strava links that make it clear they do regard it as a race in some way.

Is it just me? Or is this increasingly a 'thing'?

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
Re: 'First back' & Strava links: not in the spirit of Audax?
« Reply #1 on: 04 July, 2017, 08:15:34 pm »
Audax has always been used by racing cyclists as training. Some early Audaxers were formidable riders who aimed to set times, so nothing has changed there.

Please remember that what somebody else does on an Audax doesn't actually affect the validity of your ride. Audax is a simple objective pass/ fail test. Everything else - first back, full value or anything else- is just for individual amusement.
Wheel meet again, don't know where, don't know when...

« Reply #2 on: 04 July, 2017, 08:20:14 pm »
Do you care? Does it bother you? I would say dont worry about it. Audax will never publish times. At most, the organiser may say that it been completed in a new record time.

dim

« Reply #3 on: 04 July, 2017, 08:25:19 pm »
Audax is about you and your own time that it takes you to complete the route .... most people give it their best shot and want to finish within a good time

If you are a fit/fast rider you will want to finish in the top ten and will be proud and boast