Author Topic: Bike set up for endurance events.  (Read 2408 times)

Bike set up for endurance events.
« on: 17 July, 2016, 12:45:37 pm »
I'm curious to know peoples thoughts on how and when they relax the riding position on their bike for endurance type events.
I suspect that there is no hard and fast rule and it will vary from person to person, but at some point the gains made from a "fast" riding position must be nullified by the discomfort of a more aggressive set up.
Do the guys on multi day endurance races such as Trans Am just suck it up and suffer, or do they dial back the angles, ride a little slower but longer.
Do people change the set up mid-ride when things get too unpleasant?
I've no experience of tri bars, but does the angle they are positioned come into play as well?
*If this post is best answered on the addax thread can a mod move?
cheers.
often lost.

vorsprung

• Opposites Attract
    • Audaxing
Re: Bike set up for endurance events.
« Reply #1 on: 17 July, 2016, 02:09:35 pm »
I'm curious to know peoples thoughts on how and when they relax the riding position on their bike for endurance type events.

I only ride endurance type events (audax) so most of my bikes are set up to be "relaxed", don't have alter anything

I have an Orbea racing bike that isn't set up in this way.  It seems a little faster but I notice the difference in comfort over even distances as short as 40 miles

LMT

« Reply #2 on: 17 July, 2016, 02:34:15 pm »
Ride a recumbent.

« Reply #3 on: 17 July, 2016, 02:34:31 pm »
get a probike fit done tell the guys exactly what you intend to do they will sort u out no problem.

Karla

• car(e) free
    • Lost Byway - around the world by bike
« Reply #4 on: 17 July, 2016, 02:50:12 pm »