Author Topic: Dirty Kanza  (Read 3206 times)

Dirty Kanza
« on: 08 June, 2016, 03:53:53 pm »
Just back.
Not easy to get there, but a VERY cool experience. Great ride, great people.
Can't recommend the event highly enough.
often lost.

citoyen

• Occasionally rides a bike
Re: Dirty Kanza
« Reply #1 on: 08 June, 2016, 04:08:33 pm »
Cool. I'd love to do that one day.  :thumbsup:
"The future's all yours, you lousy bicycles."

« Reply #2 on: 09 June, 2016, 07:30:07 am »
Snap! Love to hear more.

« Reply #3 on: 09 June, 2016, 12:54:22 pm »

Sure.
I’m new to gravel/track.
 My 50th Birthday was imminent so I signed up on a whim  and ordered a new build All -Road from “Firefly" in Boston. (They built my road racer so they used the same rider geometry in an all-road set up.)
https://www.flickr.com/photos/fireflybicycles/albums/72157668609729336

I flew out to Boston 3 days before DK to pick up the bike. I had a day riding round the city, and went on a longer ride with two of the Firefly crew (thats half of the operation!) out of town and we hit a few trails.
It was a bizarre feeling being on a bike that felt so familiar yet floated over rough ground and bad city streets. I had 40mm Clements and sealant in the tubes.

Next day I bagged the bike and  took the two flights to Kansas where I  hooked up with my wife who was “rider support” (you have to have support to enter as DK has no crash van) The deal was she would act as support on the condition I took on the DK 100 and NOT the 200 (for which I have thanked her profusely)

Emporia is a couple hours South of Kansas, small town, super friendly people, all totally engaged with DK. The few hotels in town sell out faster than the entries, so digs was the town university dormitories. (never went to college so ticked that one off too)