Author Topic: The Times  (Read 2096 times)

The Times
« on: 25 April, 2018, 08:15:59 am »
I am very disappointed in the standard of journalism from The Times, once a highly respected and trustworthy purveyor of news, in their reporting of the christian girl and the muslim foster families. 

Is this the thin end of the wedge or just an aberration i wonder?

Torslanda

• Professional Gobshite
  • Just a tart for retro kit . . .
    • John's Bikes
Re: The Times
« Reply #1 on: 25 April, 2018, 09:09:59 am »
Murdoch rag, what's the country coming to, blah blah blah (contd. p.94)
VELOMANCER

Well that's the more blunt way of putting it but as usual he's dead right.

« Reply #2 on: 25 April, 2018, 09:29:05 am »
I accept that it is a Murdoch publication but for instance afaik it remains the one verified newspaper publication with court reports.   As a student I could legitimately cite Times Law Reports in assignments but the Sun, Mail, Express, even the Telegraph were not bona fide sources.  Such editorial prejudice should imo cause it's status to be reassessed.

I liked to cite as many different reports as I could which made for an awful lot of research and reading.  I even used to buy the Times on a Wednesday just for the legal section.

Redlight

• Enjoying life in the slow lane
« Reply #3 on: 25 April, 2018, 02:24:42 pm »
I think in some aspects it has declined since the present editor took over (his predecessor went off to be head of news at the BBC, I think). The incumbent had previously been editor of the Sunday Times and had overseen a similar decline, at least in the areas of coverage with which I had some involvement. These things ebb and flow - the Express, at the other extreme, looks as though it may improve under its new editor.  The Mail is, of course, a lost cause.
Why should anybody steal a watch when they can steal a bicycle?

Jaded

• The Codfather
  • Formerly known as Jaded
« Reply #4 on: 25 April, 2018, 02:54:49 pm »