Author Topic: Tool to create a basic route for a eTrex HCx  (Read 5603 times)

ChillyPanda

Tool to create a basic route for a eTrex HCx
« on: 03 December, 2016, 02:50:17 pm »
What's a good free mapping tool that I can use to create a simple gpx route?

I've been using my eTrex Legend hcx happily now for a few years for touring and audax. I've always created tracks but would like to try out the Garmin's navigation function using the 'follow road' option.

I've tried the export route option on ridewithgps but it creates a turn-by-turn route which blows the 50/100 routepoint limit on the hcx.

I reckon that I should be able to get away with as little as 20-30 routepoints  for a 200km audax, well within the hcx's limit.

I'm running Linux Mint 17.2

Edit: I'm using Talkytoaster's routable OSM maps on my eTrex.

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
Re: Tool to create a basic route for a eTrex HCx
« Reply #1 on: 03 December, 2016, 04:00:15 pm »
Garmin Basecamp.  Unfortunately it needs Windows (Or OSX).  I have a VM for the purpose.

The important thing when creating "follow road" routes is that you really want to use the exact same map as the eTrex is using, otherwise the results will be unpredictable at best.  Basecamp (or indeed Mapsource) will do this.  Online tools will not.

Ideally you'd use a tool that could run the same routing algorithm as the eTrex too, but in their infinite wisdom(!) Garmin chose not to do this with Mapsource/Basecamp.  So even under ideal conditions it's possible for the eTrex to make different routing decisions than the software you used to plot the route.  Much of the work of creating routes for "follow road" navigation is an exercise in persuading the algorithm to decide to use the roads you want to.  It can be frustrating.  (Top tip:  You want to put routepoints in the middle of sections of road you want to use, rather than at junctions.)