Author Topic: Vista C vs HCx  (Read 7295 times)

Vista C vs HCx
« on: 03 September, 2009, 10:45:59 pm »
Compared to a C, I know that an HCx has a more sensitive receiver that will lock on to satellites more quickly at start-up, and probably be more accurate.

I believe that the HCx handles more waypoints per route.

What else, though? Is the mapping better? Any major advantages? Many here seem to swear by the HCx.

Wowbagger

• Stout dipper
    • Stuff mostly about weather
Re: Vista C vs HCx
« Reply #1 on: 03 September, 2009, 10:49:26 pm »
I like my HCx although I've no experience of any other gps to allow me to compare it to anything.

I think the worst things about it are the physical design. The handlebar mounts are total crap and the gooey sealant whcih is spposed to hold the rubber casing on has all disappeared on mine. But as an auxiliary device to a set of maps it's really good.
Quote from: Dez
It doesn’t matter where you start. Just start.

Chris S

« Reply #2 on: 03 September, 2009, 10:50:01 pm »
I'm prepared to be corrected, but it's my understanding that the battery life is better on the Cx.

simonp

« Reply #3 on: 03 September, 2009, 10:53:56 pm »
If it has an x in the name the memory is expandable - so more maps loaded at a time.  In fact with the card in mine I get the whole of the UK on at once.

andygates

• Peroxide Viking
« Reply #4 on: 03 September, 2009, 10:58:13 pm »
Yup, the Vista C is Colour.

The Cx is Colour and eXpandable - takes micro SD cards up to 2Gb.

The HCx is Colour, eXpandable and High-sensitivity - takes cards, will flash to bigger cards, and has a more sensitive antenna.  Downside: costs more, slightly shorter battery life.

I wouldn't bother with the non-expandable one.
It takes blood and guts to be this cool but I'm still just a cliché.
OpenStreetMap UK & IRL Streetmap & Topo: ravenfamily.org/andyg/maps updates weekly.

Wowbagger

• Stout dipper
    • Stuff mostly about weather
« Reply #5 on: 03 September, 2009, 11:01:05 pm »