Author Topic: To late to qualify for PBP?  (Read 13956 times)

To late to qualify for PBP?
« on: 27 May, 2011, 04:08:36 pm »
Hi

1st post, Hello to everyone, I am new to Audax, but very quickly becoming an addict….  :)

Did my fist one on 14th May (200K  Lincolnshire Cross) second one on 21st May (Moors and Wolds 400 (BRM, PBP)). Will be doing plenty more…. Expect to have my Super Randonneur soon and hoping to do End to End - Brevet Randonneur in July. (had done plenty of long distance solo cycling before I joined Audax UK….)

My question is there any way for me to qualify for PARIS-BREST-PARIS?

I know I need to complete 200K, 300K, 400K and 600K Brevets de Randonneurs Mondiaux by 17th June to qualify, but am unsure If need to complete each distance by a certain date??.

The PBP site has “recommended” dates Paris-Brest-Paris 2011

The Audax UK site has “provisional” dates The next PBP will start on 21st August, 2011

Have looked at regulations (Paris-Brest-Paris 2011) and cannot see any stipulation for dates for each distance. Are these dates enforced?

2nd complication would be no 200k BRM PBP’s left on calendar, So would have to substitute longer events for shorter one… (Is allowed according to regulations)

Know it’s tight, but could just about fit the events in before 17th July, If they counted….

Also even if I did it, any idea of the chance of quota being filled and me be refused anyway???

If only had fond Audax sooner….

Thanks
Simon

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
Re: To late to qualify for PBP?
« Reply #1 on: 27 May, 2011, 04:20:09 pm »
You can qualify by riding 4 x 600 brevets on successive weekends, it has been done before.  Any brevet listed in the Audax UK website as PBP is a qualifier.  You could also ride BRMs in France, Belgium, Germany and other countries to collect sufficient qualifiers.