Author Topic: Now I do really need an electrician  (Read 7257 times)

Now I do really need an electrician
« on: 06 April, 2008, 09:53:28 pm »
Back over at acf classic I asked for some help with some power points that were playing up. True to form, I have done nothing about them. And now the entire downstairs lighting loop is on the blink.

Can anyone recommend an electrician in SW London or am I going to have to run the gauntlet of the yellow pages rip-off merchants? Please help!

steveB

Re: Now I do really need an electrician
« Reply #1 on: 06 April, 2008, 10:14:44 pm »
You're right to ask for a recommendation, I was an electrician in a previous life and have kept in touch with old colleagues, sadly none of them live your way.  They tell me that the standard of work out there can be shocking (no pun intended), house wiring is technically simple, but good practices need to be adhered to.

Recommendation is everything nowadays.  I recently paid a couple of grand to have the roof fixed, used a large local company and guess what? I still leaked in some places.  After the event I found a local roofer who came highly recommended for his work but not his reliability, he eventually turned up and repaired a leaking Velux window for thirty quid.

simonali

« Reply #2 on: 07 April, 2008, 01:20:15 am »
What is wrong and how old is the wiring? If the house wiring is old it might need a full rewire, which your local electricity board should be able to help with.

« Reply #3 on: 07 April, 2008, 09:35:40 am »
What is wrong
I don't know, other than the downstairs lights don't work, and the switches on several different sockets are stuck on "on" and the sockets don't work

and how old is the wiring?
I don't know, but the fusebox ain't modern

If the house wiring is old it might need a full rewire
That's what I'm scared of

which your local electricity board should be able to help with.
I didn't know that. A glimmer of light? I'm going to investigate...

~Thanks