Author Topic: Legend Navigation Options  (Read 3276 times)

Androcles

• Cycling Weakly
Legend Navigation Options
« on: 19 November, 2015, 12:34:55 pm »
I've been using a Legend Cx for a couple of years now, mainly for logging purposes (DIYs and Strava) but also sometime for navigation.  I think I've tried out all the different approaches to navigation and they all seem to have their pros and cons, as you might expect, but no one single method seems to be giving me what I need.

1) Autorouting with sparse routepoints - This is great at giving Distance to Next and interpreting where "Next" is a useful point like a junction but it is prone to the vagaries of whichever map is being used and the routing algorithm on the unit which can be different to that on the PC even when using the same map.  As a result I have had some interesting moments and the uncomfortable feeling of handing decision making over to the unit. 

2) Autorouting with dumb track overlay - This was becoming my method of choice as it combines the cues of the autoroute method with the security of having the actual desired track on the screen.  Problem is that the distances can still be miscalculated and the small map screen with an OSM map can get pretty busy for someone like me with sub-optimal close vision - and the map is required for autorouting of course.

3) Track following with many points - This shows on the unit exactly the planned track but with so many points that the Distance to Next is almost useless as the "Next" point is rarely more than a couple of hundred metres up the road and can't tell where the next actual turn is.

4) Track following with reduced points - A point at each junction with intermediate points placed so that the plotted track does not deviate too far from the road seems to work well, but there's still no knowing when the "Next" point is going to be a junction or a shaping point.