Author Topic: Trail tyres  (Read 7678 times)

Trail tyres
« on: 19 June, 2012, 01:13:20 pm »
This is my first foray onto this board (readers will recognise me from the audax board), and was somewhat surprised to find no thread on the subject of MTB tyres.  And yes, I know tyres are a very subjective topic!

I'm relatively new to the world of mtb riding - had a Giant carbon hardtail (with a Thudbuster post to ease my aging body) for a couple of years, but only in the last 12 months really started using it properly.  It came with a pair of Kenda 8-block tyres (2.1") which last summer were fine on the local tracks, which are in the Chiltern Beechwoods, the Ridgeway and the Wiltshire Downs.  This year, with a lot more of the wet stuff, they really left me wanting more grip.

I was recommended Schwalbe's Nobby Nics.  These were much better in the mud, but after only about 150 miles I'm finding that they are cutting badly.  The front one is now useless, with the tube ballooning through the side.

So, what do the panel recommend? Not looking for the ultimate downhill racing tyres, or tyres for genuine mountains.  Just reliable tyres for muddy/chalky/flinty and sometimes gravelly trails.

Re: Trail tyres
« Reply #1 on: 19 June, 2012, 01:42:15 pm »
I'm no expert, but I found that Bontrager Mud-X on the back wheel has worked well for keeping traction on the South Downs in the wet. A reasonably knobbly but not huge tyre whose name I cannot remember is on the front.

Edit to add: the key thing with the Mud X is that they aren't that wide, so dig in a bit.

« Reply #2 on: 19 June, 2012, 02:02:34 pm »
Marathon Extremes ?
I have them on my tourer and I've been impressed with them on mud, wet grass and gravel.

Actually, having re-read your post, they may not be as off-roady as you need; they're more of a compromise for road/off-road.

« Reply #3 on: 19 June, 2012, 02:02:55 pm »