Author Topic: Suntory Yamazaki  (Read 1726 times)

Wowbagger

• Former Sylph
    • Stuff mostly about weather
Suntory Yamazaki
« on: 02 July, 2016, 07:54:03 pm »
My Aussie daughter bought me a bottle for Father's Day/Birthday combined. I have never tried it before, but the purist in me is, quite illogically, mildly offended. I am sure I will get over it, but given that we have such a wealth of excellent malt whisky just up the road, as it were, it seems a shame to send a bottle half way round the world. However, Amazon was the publican. I shall try some after dinner.

I am sure there are plenty of aficionados who have a view about this, but I have to say that something with "Sun" and "Tory" in its name must have some redeeming features!
Quote from: Dez
It doesn’t matter where you start. Just start.

Mr Larrington

• A bit ov a lyv wyr by slof standirds
  • Custard Wallah
    • Mr Larrington's Automatic Diary
Re: Suntory Yamazaki
« Reply #1 on: 02 July, 2016, 08:22:33 pm »
I tried some a few years ago and came to the conclusion that it was nothing special, especially at that price.  Also the name sounds like a motorbike.
External Transparent Wall Inspection Operative & Mayor of Mortagne-au-Perche
Satisfying the Bloodlust of the Masses in Peacetime

« Reply #2 on: 02 July, 2016, 08:39:39 pm »
The Japanese make some excellent whiskies, as do the Indians. Suntory is the Diageo of Japan.

Wowbagger

• Former Sylph
    • Stuff mostly about weather
« Reply #3 on: 02 July, 2016, 09:15:23 pm »
I don't know what the Diageo is. This is OK, but not as smooth as the single malts I usually buy (Talisker, A Bhuna, The MacAllan, Laphroaig etc)
Quote from: Dez
It doesn’t matter where you start. Just start.

« Reply #4 on: 02 July, 2016, 10:02:29 pm »