Author Topic: Which mig welder?  (Read 4637 times)

Which mig welder?
« on: 14 August, 2008, 12:26:02 pm »
I am going to get a small gas /no gas mig welder to run on single phase 240V. What would you recommend?
Stropping rocks

Gattopardo

• Lord of the sith
  • Overseaing the building of the death star
Re: Which mig welder?
« Reply #1 on: 14 August, 2008, 01:33:58 pm »
I am going to get a small gas /no gas mig welder to run on single phase 240V. What would you recommend?

No gas mig gives a really poor finish (the inerst gas comes from the wire), and small disposable gas bottles last no time at all and are expensive.  Also the cheaper machines don't have constant wire speed, the actual speed of the wire, and makes it harder to do consistant long welds.

Have you mig welded before? 

What sort of stuff are you going to be welding?

« Reply #2 on: 14 August, 2008, 01:43:46 pm »
Nope, I'm a noob when it comes to welding. I'm looking to weld no thicker than 3mm steel.
Stropping rocks

Valiant

• aka Sam
    • Radiance Audio
« Reply #3 on: 14 August, 2008, 01:57:40 pm »
Oooh I'm interested too :)
You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say will be misquoted, then used against you.

Support Equilibrium

Gattopardo

• Lord of the sith
« Reply #4 on: 14 August, 2008, 01:59:24 pm »
Is that new metal or new metal on to old metal?

If you haven't got a good mate to show you what to do I would recomend doing a welding evening class, just so you get hints and tips from some one who does it alot.  This to include how to set the machine up as well as how to weld consistantly.

Also doing an evening class would get you to try gas, mig, stick (arc) and Tig to see what you prefer, and what machine you should get.

« Reply #5 on: 14 August, 2008, 02:05:24 pm »
Tried that route, but I work evenings.
Stropping rocks

Gattopardo

• Lord of the sith
« Reply #6 on: 14 August, 2008, 02:20:05 pm »
Tried that route, but I work evenings.

Ahhh  Is this to build a bike frame?