Author Topic: Brompton shifter (3-speed)  (Read 5691 times)

Brompton shifter (3-speed)
« on: 22 June, 2015, 06:39:15 pm »
I am new to the delights of a three-speed Brompton, the shifter seems incredibly stiff when shifting to higher gears.

(a) is it supposed to be like that?
(b) can I do anything to make it work properly?
Quote from: tiermat
that's not science, it's semantics.

Arellcat

• Velonautte
Re: Brompton shifter (3-speed)
« Reply #1 on: 24 June, 2015, 08:22:37 am »
Are you trying to change gear while applying force to the pedals?  Sturmey 3-speeds don't generally like that very much.  If it's still incredibly stiff to operate even if the bike is on the workstand, you might try disconnecting the cable from the indicator rod (via the tiny chain that disappears inside the axle) and see if the gear lever is still stiff to move.  It should be notchy but otherwise fairly loose.
Quote from: Morningsider
I like that you think any of your conveyances might qualify as "a disguise".

« Reply #2 on: 24 June, 2015, 08:29:15 am »
I had a similar problem and it turned out not to be the shifter but the cable - the outer had worn and was catching the inner where the cable passes behind the chainset so wasn't too easy to spot.
I am often asked, what does YOAV stand for? It stands for Yoav On A Velo

Jacomus

• My favourite gender neutral pronoun is comrade
« Reply #3 on: 13 July, 2015, 03:26:47 pm »
In addition to what Arellcat says about being careful not to shift under load, I've also found that the shifter going very stiff/notchy is an indication that the timing chain tension has slipped and needs to be fettled.
"The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity." Amelia Earhart

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
« Reply #4 on: 13 July, 2015, 03:40:13 pm »