Author Topic: Brompton - 2-speed vs 3-speed  (Read 29993 times)

citoyen

• Occasionally rides a bike
Brompton - 2-speed vs 3-speed
« on: 03 December, 2015, 04:41:19 pm »
I'm planning a new Brompton purchase and most of the decisions about spec are already made but one thing I can't decide on is gearing.

The current Brompton has a 3-speed Sachs hub, 54t chainring and 12t (I think) sprocket. I like this set-up so I'm tempted to replicate it as far as possible.

Am I right in thinking the 'standard' chainring size on a new Brompton is 50t? I'm struggling to find detailed spec on the Brompton website, only vague terms like 'standard' and 'reduced'. (And why do they no longer offer increased gearing options, only reduced? Oh well, at least the new style of chainset means it will be easier to fit a proper sized chainring.)

I'm also seriously considering the 2-speed option, but I've never used them before so how do they compare? I mainly use the low and middle gear, so I could probably live without the top gear. But again, it's hard to find any meaningful numbers. One thing I like about the 3-speed is that it's all internal, while the 2-speed derailleur is external. Does the 2-speed derailleur require more maintenance?

The other option is the 'black' edition, which both looks spiffing and comes with the 2-speed BSR gearing. That's an intriguing possibility. What is it like to use? It looks like the gap between gears is pretty big.

I still haven't ruled out the possibility of going for singlespeed. Ran the current Brommie as singlespeed for a while and loved the simplicity and reduced weight.
"The future's all yours, you lousy bicycles."

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
Re: Brompton - 2-speed vs 3-speed
« Reply #1 on: 03 December, 2015, 05:03:00 pm »
And why do they no longer offer increased gearing options, only reduced?

Because the standard option is horrendously over-geared?