Author Topic: Garage airline convertor  (Read 3815 times)

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
Garage airline convertor
« on: 29 April, 2008, 08:42:20 pm »
Is there such a thing as a convertor that could be used on a garage air line to bring a tube up to pressure - after a mini pump has been used after a p*ncture - and with effort has got pressure up to say 75ish?
I am sure I have heard of such a thing - but dont remember seeing it for sale
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

RogerT

• Playing with a big steamy thing
Re: Garage airline convertor
« Reply #1 on: 29 April, 2008, 08:47:34 pm »
FB

Got an adapter from my LBS.  Just a small brass converter that screws on to the Presta Valve and allows the Schrader airline to clamp on to it.

But, a lot of garage airlines are limited to about 60 PSI nowadays.

RT

Biggsy

• A bodge too far
  • Twit @iceblinker
    • My stuff on eBay
« Reply #2 on: 29 April, 2008, 09:07:31 pm »
Yes, there are Presta to Schrader (aka Schraeder) adapters .  The best ones incorporate an o-ring to prevent leakage.  (A leaky adapter is one of the most annoying things in the world).

As well as pressure usually being limited, garages tend to ban the use of their air lines for bicycle tyres.  So, save them for emergencies only when your pump is lost.  Carry a 20p piece as well as your adapter for this purpose.

Otherwise I suggest a better pump or a CO2 inflator.  With CO2, there is virtually no limit to the pressure you can get a bike tyre up to if you have enough cartridges or put some air in first with a pump.  Just one 16 gram cartridge will usually do.  I recommend the Innovations Air Chuck SL.

You should manage about 100 psi with a pump with a narrow barrel, of any length.  If you want small, there is the Topeak Pocket Rocket, to name just one of many.
●●●  My eBay items  ●●●  Twitter  ●●●

« Reply #3 on: 29 April, 2008, 11:21:21 pm »