Author Topic: Newbie goes skiing... any tips?  (Read 8964 times)

Newbie goes skiing... any tips?
« on: 15 April, 2008, 04:10:09 pm »
I am off to the slopes for 1.5 days tomorrow. I'll have skiing lessons, but I don't fancy my chances on the planks.

Any tips for a total newbie?

:D

Re: Newbie goes skiing... any tips?
« Reply #1 on: 15 April, 2008, 04:11:46 pm »
Relax and enjoy yourself.
"Yes please" said Squirrel "biscuits are our favourite things."

Charlotte

• Dissolute libertine
  • Here's to ol' D.H. Lawrence...
    • charlottebarnes.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: 15 April, 2008, 04:13:33 pm »
Bend ze knees  :)

...and have a fabulous trip!
Commercial, Editorial and PR Photographer - www.charlottebarnes.co.uk

PaulF

• "World's Scariest Barman"
  • It's only impossible if you stop to think about it
« Reply #3 on: 15 April, 2008, 04:15:43 pm »
Bend zee knees :D

Or as Greenbank says relax!

Best is to listen to your instructor because:

a. What do a bunch of cyclists know about skiing anyway? :)

b. Those that do most likely learnt so long ago that both they've forgotten how they were taught and techniques will have changed

« Reply #4 on: 15 April, 2008, 04:19:11 pm »
The one thing that the instructor kept saying to me was "Lean Forwards"  (You can't fall over forwards, the boots won't let you).

Another big tip is to completely relax, and when you fall down really relax - don't tense up.  I had a major wipe out in Feb that left skis, poles and other debris over a long section of piste; but when I finally nearly came to a stop I still allowed, encouraged even, the final two rolls just to absorb the remaining energy.  I think the instructor was surprised that I really hadn't injured anything.

And above all, enjoy yourself and look at the scenery.

« Reply #5 on: 15 April, 2008, 04:22:38 pm »
Don't bend the knees, folex your ankles. Imagine you have a tomato in the front of your boot and you are trying to squash it with your shin.