Author Topic: .gpx to Garmin Etrex HC  (Read 2749 times)

.gpx to Garmin Etrex HC
« on: 14 August, 2010, 04:15:17 am »
I tried posting this elsewhere without any sucess- can some one help?

For those of you riding The Old 240 this Saturday, a *.gpx file created in bikeroutetoaster and kindly provided by Mike Thompson, is available on the same website at
http://www.halifaxctc.org.uk/WestYorkshireSR/Calendar/ACTIVE%20LOG.gpx

Can somebody please give me a clear idiots simple step by step guide to transfering this to a garmin etrex HC to use this coming Saturday.

I am a GPS novice and keep getting a message that this file is corrupt?

PaulF

• "World's Scariest Barman"
  • It's only impossible if you stop to think about it
Re: .gpx to Garmin Etrex HC
« Reply #1 on: 14 August, 2010, 06:22:16 am »
Looks OK to me - I've at least managed to get it into RoadTrip.

The only issue I had was that it downloaded as "ACTIVE LOG.gpx.txt" so I renamed it to "ACTIVE LOG.gpx".

What software are you using?

In RoadTrip on a Mac I import the file, copy to a new folder and then send folder contents to my eTrex.

« Reply #2 on: 14 August, 2010, 07:55:01 am »
I have mapsource and Easy gps.

I do not know RoadTrip I can try it - no I can't I have not got a Mac :facepalm:.

PaulF

• "World's Scariest Barman"
  • It's only impossible if you stop to think about it
« Reply #3 on: 14 August, 2010, 08:07:42 am »
Mapsource should work in a similar way but I haven't tried it for the same reasons as you :)

DaveJ

• Happy days
« Reply #4 on: 14 August, 2010, 09:08:07 am »
Right click the original link and then "save as"
Save the file as a .gpx file
Then just open the file in Mapsource.  I'm using Mapsource 2010 and it opens fine.

You'll need to cut the track up and bring the individual segments down to less than 500 points before transferring to to the Garmin.

DAve

« Reply #5 on: 14 August, 2010, 09:13:48 am »