Author Topic: The way of online communities?  (Read 14368 times)

Hummers

• It is all about the taste.
The way of online communities?
« on: 14 April, 2008, 05:12:05 pm »
Now before I start, if it's going anywhere, I would rather this thread didn't become a character assasination of people past or present, a new vehicle for the grinding of axes or an excuse to resume the picking of scabs. OK?

It has been suggested that as sure as night follows day, forums form, grow and implode on a regular basis - it was always thus and forever shall be. Whether that statement is true or not, it got me thinking about what it means to be part of an online community.

Compared to some, I am relatively new to online communities but have found them;

1. a valuable resource for information,
2. a source of inspiration,
3. an opportunity to spend time and exchange views with people I may otherwise would not have met and,
4. at different times over the last 3 years, a level of support.

I suspect that some readers will be reaching for the 'Oh FFS it's only a forum button'. Whilst I understand this reaction, I don't think I'm alone in thinking that I am part of an online community rather than just a forum. I know what I've got out of it and conversely, would expect to bring to any community, online or otherwise.

Just like in real life, you don't get on with everyone that you share a community with but building these things takes a level of time and commitment from everyone if they are going to work properly. But what effect does this cycle of Internet forum boom and bust have on us? Is it a case of once bitten, twice the reluctant poster? Does it make us less willing to commit and to contribute next time if we've found ourselves (perhaps more than once) part of forum that has gone supernova?