Author Topic: Tyre Pressure Dropping  (Read 4600 times)

Tyre Pressure Dropping
« on: 27 November, 2017, 12:17:23 pm »
Hey up.
I've been riding some 650b 42 mm tyres (tubes)
I have them pumped up to 55/60 psi and after a couple of days or so the pressure  drops down towards 20/25 psi.
I'm pretty new to wider rubber, and was aware that they do bleed pressure more quickly than narrower tyres at higher pressures; but this much???
Before I rip out the inner tubes and replace them, is this normal pressure loss?
No visible holes/damage on the tires.
ta.
often lost.

Re: Tyre Pressure Dropping
« Reply #1 on: 27 November, 2017, 12:27:23 pm »
Latex inner tubes would lose pressure like that, but butyl ones should take a week or two before you notice them getting softer.

« Reply #2 on: 27 November, 2017, 12:28:39 pm »

I'm pretty new to wider rubber, and was aware that they do bleed pressure more quickly than narrower tyres at higher pressures; but this much???
Not in my experience.

In fact I've had tyres with a semi-sealed puncture (thorn stuck in the hole, drawing pin stuck in them) and not noticed for several hours of riding.

So I think you have a puncture or a leaky valve, my bet is on the latter. Wider tyres have a bigger volume and lower pressure forcing the air out; these factors combine to mean that they are less inclined to pressure drops than skinny tyres.
<i>Marmite slave</i>

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
« Reply #3 on: 27 November, 2017, 12:44:56 pm »
So I think you have a puncture or a leaky valve, my bet is on the latter. Wider tyres have a bigger volume and lower pressure forcing the air out; these factors combine to mean that they are less inclined to pressure drops than skinny tyres.

Agreed.

« Reply #4 on: 27 November, 2017, 12:47:43 pm »
Another vote for a slow puncture/leaky valve.

One of my trailer tyres (42-406) has that type of problem, I need to put air in it every 4-5 days.