Author Topic: Pools, shared showers and personal hygiene  (Read 5691 times)

mattc

• n.b. have grown beard since photo taken
    • Didcot Audaxes
Pools, shared showers and personal hygiene
« on: 03 September, 2008, 06:57:45 pm »
I'm pretty new to this aquatic stuff after a 25yr layoff. My local pool has a communal shower (i.e. between the pool and the segregated changing rooms).

Now, I assume that one is not supposed to get nekkid in these showers (certainly nobody else does), so it seems to be rather difficult to get really clean after a swim. I don't really sweat in the pool (perhaps cos I can't swim very far yet), but I still feel I ought to have a 'proper' wash.

Has anyone else used these things? Are these sensible concerns? Do you head straight home for a proper shower?!?

Yours, self-conscious of Oxon,
etc ...

Has never ridden RAAM
---------
No.11  Because of the great host of those who dislike the least appearance of "swank " when they travel the roads and lanes. - From Kuklos' 39 Articles

vince

Re: Pools, shared showers and personal hygiene
« Reply #1 on: 03 September, 2008, 07:00:16 pm »
I thought the showers were in the changing area?

Getting nekkid in the communal areas to shower seems a bit european to me.

Treewheeler

« Reply #2 on: 03 September, 2008, 07:05:58 pm »
Got to warn you Matt, with your weak bladder condition I'd be carefull about leakage as they often put a strong reactive dye that turns purple in the presence of urine... ;)

andygates

• Peroxide Viking
« Reply #3 on: 03 September, 2008, 07:06:20 pm »
That shower's just to rinse off chlorine or to get wet before you jump in.  Don't get nekkid!

And yes, you do sweat.  Pop out after a bunch of lengths and without the cooling water, you'll burst into sweat.  Good news: there's lots of water to dilute it and chlorine to kill nasties.
It takes blood and guts to be this cool but I'm still just a cliché.
OpenStreetMap UK & IRL Streetmap & Topo: ravenfamily.org/andyg/maps updates weekly.