Author Topic: Bike Ride Logging Website  (Read 1369 times)

vorsprung

• Opposites Attract
    • Audaxing
Bike Ride Logging Website
« on: 07 January, 2012, 10:45:45 am »
I dislike existing websites for logging rides ( BikeJournal, mycyclinglogs etc etc ) all the ones I've tried have either been slow, unreliable, lacking in features or otherwise unfit for purpose.

I am currently without gainful employment so I will be having a crack at doing my own.  As I am without income I am looking at free hosting options.  As I am a IT tech programming type person I'd like to use this as a opportunity to use the latest batshit technologies.

So I'll be developing using the Ruby framework Sinatra and deploying to cloudfoundry.com

As soon as I get things rolling I'll write up a full requirements document / specification, with screen mockups and stuff like that.

Here is my initial feature list:
  • Initially, the logging will look like my existing google spreadsheet with 3 sheets, "log rides", "manage bikes" and "manage tyres"
  • There will be some kind of report generator that can do little graphs and stuff
  • I'm not sure about the "social" side of the logging, there might be a feature to find riders "similar" to yourself in terms of distances and times as well as the more usual "clubs" and "groups"
  • There will be a webservices style external method for logging rides so the system can be used by other websites or third party applications
  • There will be a data export facility to prevent lock in problems.  This will export ALL data and ALL relations
  • Android client

Re: Bike Ride Logging Website
« Reply #1 on: 07 January, 2012, 10:53:38 am »
I'd like it (as a prospective user) to log 'parts' rather than just tyres.

(I hope you anticipated this thread would turn into a wish list... )

robgul

• Cycle:End-to-End webmaster
  • cyclist, Cytech accredited mechanic & woodworker
    • Cycle:End-to-End
« Reply #2 on: 07 January, 2012, 11:02:52 am »