Author Topic: Brompton wheel building  (Read 11992 times)

Charlotte

• Dissolute libertine
  • Here's to ol' D.H. Lawrence...
    • charlottebarnes.co.uk
Brompton wheel building
« on: 29 July, 2011, 11:33:45 am »
I know that some people aren't awfully enamoured of Brompton's wheel building skills.  As an amateur wheel builder myself, such things worry me.  I currently have a new Brommie on order and it should be arriving some time next month.

What should I do to ensure a longer-lived wheel?  Slacken off all the spokes and re-tension and true?  Or actually tear it apart and start again from scratch using some arcane majik?

Commercial, Editorial and PR Photographer - www.charlottebarnes.co.uk

border-rider

Re: Brompton wheel building
« Reply #1 on: 29 July, 2011, 11:37:15 am »
I'd just leave well alone until attention needed

On all mine (I'm on my 2nd Brommie and 6th wheel) the hub/rim have failed before the wheel has gone far enough out of true to worry about.  With tiny wheels like those, you can get away with *really* poor wheelbuilding

Biggsy

• A bodge too far
  • Twit @iceblinker
    • My stuff on eBay
« Reply #2 on: 29 July, 2011, 11:58:37 am »
Or actually tear it apart and start again from scratch using some arcane majik?

I don't believe there's ever any need for that with any wheel unless changing the spokes (like Roger has done with Brommies).

To make good as possible with existing spokes: detension; tension and press spokes hard with thumbs to make conform to the hub flange; true; stress-relieve by squeezing hard together pairs of spokes.

I have a question myself (perhaps a rather dumb one): is the rear wheel supposed to have the rim centred between the locknuts in the normal way?  The dishing of mine is well out if so.  I haven't bothered to correct it yet.
●●●  My eBay items  ●●●  Twitter  ●●●

border-rider

« Reply #3 on: 29 July, 2011, 12:05:30 pm »
is the rear wheel supposed to have the rim centred between the locknuts in the normal way? 

yes